The Tampa Bay Lightning won the Stanley Cup after crushing the Montreal Canadiens to a 1-0 in Game 5 of the final.

Tampa Bay Lightning became the 9th team to win back-to-back championships of the prestigious Stanley cup. It also became the first team since 2015 which won it at home. Montreal managed to hold off elimination having an overtime victory.

 The Amalie Arena was jam-packed with over 17,000 crazy fans chanting “We want the Cup!”

Tampa Bay Lightning’s forward Ross Colton scored the only goal of the game ending the scoreless period of more than a half-game time. It happened after the veteran defenseman of the team Ryan McDonough dragged the puck to the middle and from there passed it to David Savard who fed the puck in front of the net, missing the goaltender Carey Price by inches over the top corner.

The goal by David Savard was marked as the 18th time the team scored in a postseason which tied the record of NHL’s most goals in a postseason with Edmonton Oilers back in 1990.

The Lightning players applied an aggressive strategy from the very beginning of the game and kept on striking continuously at the goal post but all the attempts went fruitless, even though they got some opportunities to score.

Colton’s goal changed the direction of the game making the Bay’s in charge especially Nick Suzuki, Josh Anderson, and Cole Caulfield who came close to strike the puck across the net again.

Tampa Bay defeated the Dallas Stars almost 10 months ago to clinch the second championship in franchise history. They are just the second team to do so in the salary-cap era which started in 2005.

Pat Maroon made a record of winning a third consecutive Stanley cup. The first cup came with St. Louis Blues back in 2019 over Boston Bruins whereas the rest of the two came with Tampa Bay Lightning in 2020 and now in 2021.

Maroon also became the fourth player in the history of leagues to win three cups in a row with two separate teams.

On the other hand, the Montreal Canadiens put up a very strong performance throughout the series but they lost the momentum at the very end and lost the final to Tampa Bay Lightning.