President Joe Biden has decided that he will not sign the $1400 stimulus checks. Unlike former President Donald Trump, he has no intention of his name appearing on the stimulus checks which will be disbursed under the $1.9 trillion American Rescue Plan.

The first stimulus checks last year were issued with Trump’s signature, even though the president is not legally authorized to sign them. After the $2.2 trillion CARES Act passed last spring, the Treasury Department ordered that every stimulus check will bore President Trump’s name. This suggestion was made by Trump himself to Treasury Secretary Steven Munchin.

Trump’s name appeared on the memo line of the stimulus checks as the president is legally not allowed to sign disbursements directly released from the Treasury Department. This decision led to a delay in the delivery of stimulus checks to American families as there were many technical challenges involved.

White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki has claimed that the Biden Administration is doing everything possible to expedite the payments and make the process flawless. This is the core reason that the stimulus checks will not have President Biden’s signature on them.

The checks will be officially signed by the Bureau of Fiscal Service.

According to the American Rescue Plan, individuals earning less than $75000 per year will be entitled to receive $1400 stimulus checks, while a couple who earn less than $150,000 per year and file their taxes together will be entitled to receive $2800 stimulus checks. The payments will be phased out as income increases to $80,000 per year for individuals and $120,000 for household heads and $160,000 for couples who have filed their taxes jointly.