Well, nobody needs an introduction on Instagram. Clearly, it’s one of the most known apps in the world. The app never misses any chance to surprise us with its new features.

Recently the app has made more positive changes to its platform. Yes, you guessed it right! It has finally responded to your ‘how to see who shared your Instagram post’ query by launching this new feature.

If you want to learn more about this feature like, where it is located and how to use it, you are welcome to our guide.

How to switch to an Instagram business/creator account?

First things first, to know who shared your Instagram post to their stories, you need to have either a business or creator account on the app. Why so? Only such accounts can give you access to your content insights. Through these Instagram insights, you can determine who engaged with your content, including stories, posts, and reels.

Rest assured if you are wondering if it’s complicated to create creator or business accounts. It is as simple as switching to your other account. Always know that these accounts are not private. They are made for public interaction. So if you really want to know and have no issues with your content being public, then only switch to a business/creator account.

Follow these steps to switch your private account to a creator account.

  • Assuming you do this on your smartphone, open your Instagram account and login into your private profile
  • Go to the menu on the top right corner of the app
  • Choose Settings > Account > scroll down to the bottom
  • Now you will be given two options; ‘Switch to professional account’ and ‘Add new professional account’

Pick one and follow all the on-screen instructions to switch to a professional account.

How to see who shared your Instagram post?

Now that you have switched to a professional account, anyone on Instagram can visit your profile and check out your content. Hey, you’ve kinda become a blogger now! Congrats. Now, if you want to keep track of who shared your content, you can follow the steps below:

  • Open your newly switched account and head to your profile
  • Click on the post of which you want to check the insights
  • Tap ‘View Insights’ on that post
  • You will find a number directly beneath the paper airplane option if your post was reshared. That number is the interpretation of how many people have shared your post.

This is how you will know how many people have reshared your post to their Instagram profiles.

How to see who shared your Instagram Stories?

Just like you can check your reshare number insights on your feed post, you can check the same for your stories as well. To check insights into your Instagram stories, follow these few easy steps:

  • Log in to your public account and tap on your profile picture to view the story’s insights
  • In the views section, you will see a breakdown of the number of impressions, content interaction, and navigation.
  • If you want to check the insights of your previous stories that are no longer on your profile, tap the insights icon on your profile.
  • Click the metrics in the overview section.

There you will see all the insights of your previous stories, including the number of people shared, engagement as well as how many people it reached.

Why are you unable to see reshares on your Instagram posts?

As said previously, you can only view how has reshared your post on Instagram if you have a business or public account. Those who have a normal account can only check the number of people who shared their posts but not exactly who have shared their posts. So, switch to an Instagram creator account to get detailed insights.

Does Instagram tell you if a user reshares your post?

Unfortunately, no. Instagram does not let you know if someone shares your post through a DM (direct message). On the contrary, if a user shares your post on their story, Instagram will notify you, and you can see their story through that notification except in the situation where their account is private.

How to check how many users are sending your posts to other users?

It’s now a norm on Instagram to reshare a video to your friend’s group instead of tagging them in the comments section. However, you can still know who has sent your post on Instagram by following these steps:

  • Open your Instagram business account
  • Go to your profile and open any post on which you want to check reshares
  • Click on its insights
  • Find the ‘send arrow icon’ on the right side. Upon clicking, you will see how many people have sent your post to other users.

Can you stop someone from sharing your posts publicly?

Once another user has shared your post, there is no way to delete it unless it’s a story. Due to some privacy concerns, Instagram does not show who has reshared your post. However, when someone shares your story and tags you, you can delete that post by deleting your original story. As far as Instagram post is concerned, you cannot stop anybody from sharing them. If it bothers you, switch back to a private account.

Can you tell if a user saves your Instagram post?

If you have a business account, you can definitely check who saved your post on Instagram by following these few steps:

  • Open your Instagram account and then the post on which you want to check the insights.
  • Find the ‘view insights’ option at the bottom and click.
  • You will see a bookmark option with a certain number (if anybody has saved your post) at the end of the row.

Conclusion

Unfortunately, if you have a private account, you won’t be able to enjoy all these perks. That said, a private account comes with its fair share of consequences. Like, you cannot stop anyone from sharing your post without your permission or you cannot stop anyone from criticizing you publicly. Therefore before you switch to a public account, make a list of pros and cons to make your decision easier.