Due to the ongoing pandemic and ban on public gatherings, Apple hosted its second Apple Music Awards virtually. Last year, Apple decided to honor achievements in Music through five categories.

The five categories are as follows; Songwriter of the Year, Artist of the year, Breakthrough artist of the year, the top song of the year, and top album of the year.

Songwriter award is one of the major categories in Apple Music Awards, and this year it was given to Taylor Swift for her new album Folklore.

Folklore is an album that came out as a surprise and topped the chart for more than eight weeks. It also became the first album of 2020 to sell more than one million copies and became the longest-running number-one album from 2017-2020.

Moreover, this album was written and recorded during the months-long lockdown. Taylor collaborated with multi-instrumental artists, Aaron Dessner of ‘The National’ band, for 11 songs out of 16 songs in the album.

Upon receiving this award, Taylor Swift regarded this award as one of the most special awards to her. In the blacktop and blonde tresses with bang cut, she also thanked her fans for supporting her throughout her journey via her recorded acceptance speech. Moreover, she also said that during these times of tribulation, songwriting had kept her sane.

As she accepted the award, she mentioned that winning the Songwriter of the year title is always a wonderful feeling, but this particular award holds a special place because of the album she released this year. According to her, the songs that she wrote during the lockdown was the only way she was able to connect with her fans.

The 10 times Grammy award winner also expressed her gratitude towards all the fans who loved and supported her newly released album before she concluded her speech.

Without a doubt, Taylor Swift has proven that she is one of the most popular and most loved music icons in the US. Moreover, she is also the first female musician who has given seven consecutive hits since her debut.

Apart from Taylor Swift, Lil Baby took the Artist of the year award. Megan Thee Stallion bagged the award for Breakthrough Artist of the year, and Roddy Ricch took home the Top song of the year and top album of the year award.